top of page

What Is CEDAW - United Nations Convention on the Elimination of all Forms of Discrimination Against Women

CEDAW is an international human rights treaty focuses on three major Issues: 

  • Civil rights and the legal status of women

  • Reproductive rights

  • Cultural factors influencing gender relations

Countries that ratify CEDAW agree to take concrete steps to improve the status of women and end discrimination and violence against women.


CEDAW has been ratified by every member country of the United Nations except:

  • United States

  • Sudan

  • South Sudan 

  • Somalia

  • Iran

  • Pacific Island Nation Palau

  • Pacific Island Nation Tonga

bottom of page